Lend me your ears – learning about corn.

We had a great harvest of our “burm corn” this year… but I screwed it up. I was waiting for the ears to get bigger… I guess this “quick” variety doesn’t get too big. Eventually I did some research and found that you can tell ripeness by when the tassels go brown. And, I learned that if you don’t pick at peak ripeness… the corn will be super starchy and not so good. We only were able to eat a few ears. But I’m trying to try them out and then grind the kernels and make polenta. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

